Torchbearer character sheets – for newbies

Will be running a short try-out of the Fantasy dungeon-crawl RPG Torchbearer in a week or two. It’s a wonderful game, full of complex interlocking game mechanics that support rather than replace role-playing – at least that’s the theory. It puts a lot of pressure on the GM, both in terms of system mastery and improvising when character’s rolls don’t quite go as intended.

Invariably, I create new character sheets for every game I run. I find most default character sheets are messy and over-written, so I try to emphasise the key features while removing unnecessary detail for players who don’t know the system.

This is my first effort to do this for Torchbearer – the level of mechanical crunch that players directly interact with make it hard to strip back to the level I’d like, but what I have been able to do is only retain the elements that players will directly interact with in their first few sessions.

Unusually for me, I decided to do this in Powerpoint rather than Excel. Sssh, please don’t tell. Both .pptx and .pdf versions can be downloaded using the links below.

PDF version (non-editable)

PPTX version (editable)

Leave a Reply

